Awards & Past Recipients

The Federation of Asian Canadian Lawyers is proud to recognize lawyers of East Asian, South Asian and Southeast Asian descent who have made significant contributions to their communities and the broader legal community with the FACL Awards.


FACL Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes an Asian-Canadian legal professional, who has practised law for a minimum of 25 years, and has made significant and longstanding contributions to the legal community and for positive contributions made to social justice and/or the Asian community.

  • 2010 - Maryka Omatsu
  • 2012 - Lilian Ma
  • 2013 - Jeffrey Lem
  • 2014 - Edward Hung (posthumous)
  • 2016 - David Tsubouchi
  • 2017 - Raj Anand
  • 2019 - Julia Shin Doi
  • 2020 - Justice Shaun Nakatsuru
  • 2021 - Sandy Tse


FACL Lawyer of Distinction Award

Recognizes an Asian-Canadian legal professional, who has practised law for a minimum of 10 years, for significant accomplishments in the law and for service to the legal profession, areas of social justice and/or the Asian community.

  • 2009 - Rafael Fabregas
  • 2012 - Avvy Go
  • 2013 - Daniel Mark
  • 2014 - Constance L. Sugiyama
  • 2015 - Malliha Wilson
  • 2016 - Sandra Nishikawa
  • 2019 - Andy Chan
  • 2020 - Lai-King Hum
  • 2021 - Tony Wong


FACL Young Lawyer of the Year Award

Recognizes an Asian-Canadian legal professional, who has practised law for no more than 10 years, for achievements which are beyond what is expected of him or her based on his or her experience.

  • 2012 - Joseph Cheng
  • 2013 - Chris Hope
  • 2014 - Kenneth Jim
  • 2015 - Clara Pham
  • 2016 - Junaid Subhan
  • 2017 - Kendall Yamagishi
  • 2019 - Megan Lee (posthumous)
  • 2020 - Devin Persaud
  • 2021 - Megan Mah


FACL Social Justice Award

Recognizes a person, organization or company which has demonstrated achievements in at least one of the following areas: diversity, innovation, leadership, public service, professional development, philanthropy, volunteerism and furthering the goals of FACL.

  • 2012 - Caregivers' Action Centre, accepted on behalf of CAC by Jean Marie Vecina
  • 2014 - Jason Tam
  • 2016 - Bennett Gastle Professional Corporation
  • 2017 - Maytree
  • 2019 - Paul Saguil
  • 2020 - Jayashree Goswami


FACL Corporate Diversity and Leadership Award

Recognizes an individual or organization in the corporate sector who has demonstrated exceptional leadership towards achieving greater diversity and inclusion among the bar.

  • 2014 - Ernest Tucket
  • 2016 - Osler LLP
  • 2019 - Fasken
  • 2020 - Roslyn Tsao


FACL Public Sector Lawyer Award

The Public Sector Lawyer Award is offered to a lawyer whose career demonstrates a commitment to the legal profession, community service and social justice.

  • 2014 - Gary Yee
  • 2015 - Clara Ho (posthumous)
  • 2016 - Arif Virani
  • 2019 - Mabel Lai
  • 2020 - Frank Man-Kong Au 


Omatsu FACL Scholarship

The Omatsu FACL Scholarship was established to honour Justice Maryka Omatsu, Canada’s first East Asian woman judge.  Commencing in 2013, one scholarship in the amount of $1,000 was awarded to a law student.  In recent years, with support from the legal community, FACL has been able to increase the size of each scholarship to $2,000, and has given multiple awards annually.   

  • 2013 - Wendy Sun
  • 2014 - Vivian Li
  • 2015 - Kate Shao and Reema Mahbubani
  • 2016 - Stefanie Wong and Yuan Stevens
  • 2017 - Jiaqing He
  • 2019 - Saad Gaya, Alice Pan, Yadesha Satheaswaran
  • 2020 - Ryan Wai On Chan, Nusra Khan, Nicky (Yujeong) Kim, Yi Di (Jessica) Zhang
  • 2021 - Annecy Pang, Calvin To, Matthew Tran, Flora Yu, Jerry Zhu


FACL Ontario LaForme Scholarship

The Honourable Harry S. LaForme is Anishinabe of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. He was born and raised on the reserve where some of his family still reside. Justice LaForme graduated from Osgoode Hall Law School and articled with Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt. He was called to the bar in 1979, and in private practice litigated matters involving the Constitution and Charter across Canada and represented Canadian Aboriginal interests internationally. In 1994 he was appointed to the Superior Court of Justice in Ontario and was – at that time - one of only 3 indigenous judges ever appointed to this level of trial court in Canada. In 2004, he was appointed to the Ontario Court of Appeal and is the first indigenous person to be appointed to any appellate court in the history of Canada – he retired from the judiciary in 2018. Justice LaForme has been honoured with numerous awards including the gift of Eagle Feathers symbolizing the virtues of honesty, integrity, and respect. He has published numerous articles on issues related to indigenous law and justice, and frequently speaks on these topics as well as criminal, civil and human rights law. He is currently Senior Counsel at OKT LLP.

The FACL Ontario LaForme Scholarship was established to honour Justice Harry S. LaForme.

The Scholarship is awarded based on law student vision, academics, financial need, and a personal statement.

  • 2021 - Mithea Murugesu