Board of Directors

FACL Ontario's Board brings together exceptional individuals with a diversity of perspectives and experience, coupled with a shared commitment to the organization’s mission.

As per FACL Ontario’s bylaws, up to 18 Full Members and 2 Student Members may serve on the Board.


President - Brendan Wong

Brendan is a partner in the Commercial Litigation practice group of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, focusing on shareholder disputes, insolvency litigation, banking litigation and competition law. Brendan obtained an LLB at Dalhousie University and an LLM, specializing in Commercial Law, at the University of Cambridge.


Treasurer - Henry Ngan

Henry is an associate in the Toronto office of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, where he practices in the Health Law Group. Henry acts as counsel to healthcare institutions and their employees, in defending civil liability claims and in connection with administrative law matters such as physician privileges.


Secretary - Terry Wong

Terry is Crown Counsel with the Ontario Ministry of Labour. His practice focuses on quasi-criminal prosecution, employment standards, occupational health and safety, and administrative appeals. He holds a JD from Osgoode Hall Law School and a Bachelor of Commerce with distinction from the University of Calgary.


VP External (Private) - Lai King Hum

Lai is the FACL National President  and Chair of the Roundtable of Diversity Associations. She has been an active member of FACL since late 2010.  She is founding principal of Hum Law Firm, a boutique practice in downtown Toronto, offering legal expertise to deal with all issues in the workplace and the professions.


VP External (Public) - Joyce Tam

Joyce is a Toronto-based lawyer practicing at Thomas Gold Pettingill LLP. Her practice focuses on insurance, coverage, and commercial litigation. She obtained her articles through a clerkship with the Superior Court of Justice after obtaining her law degree from McGill University and summering in the corporate department of a large New York law firm.


VP Internal - Shikha Kasal

Shikha is in the Legal, Corporate & Compliance Group (LCCG) at BMO Financial Group where she supports the Investment and Corporate Banking Lines of Business of BMO Capital Markets.  Prior to joining BMO, Shikha acted as legal counsel for a global technology company, advising on general corporate and intellectual property matters.


VP Membership - Jean Lee

Jean is an associate lawyer and trade-mark agent at Norton Rose Fulbright, practicing in all areas of intellectual property. She is currently working towards obtaining her patent agent designation. Jean holds a JD from University of Toronto Law School and a B.Sc. in Honors Pharmacology from the University of British Columbia.


VP Communications - Cindy Kou

Cindy Kou is an associate at Gowling Lafleur Henderson. Cindy brings years of experience assisting organizations with mission-setting and capacity building, planning and hosting events large and small, and leveraging diverse social media platforms to promote them.



Board of Directors (2016 - 2017)

Brendan Wong

Henry Ngan

Terry Wong

Lai-King Hum

Peter Choe

Shikha Kasal

Jean Lee

Cindy Kou

Gerald Chan

Philip Tsui

Leonard Lee

Joyce Tam

Vince Wong

Michael Doi

Emily Lam

Michelle Seto

Tushara Weerasooriya

Mary Phan

Christina Liao (Student)

Coco Chen (Student)